Let’s look at what each of these belt colors means so you have an idea of what to look forward to.

Martial arts have a traditional belt system that’s rooted in the 19th century. Since then, many different disciplines have adopted this system. Students appreciate this because it allows them to see the progress they’re making. Let’s look at what each of these belt colors means so you have an idea of what to look forward to.

White Belt
This is the belt worn by students throughout the initial phase of the study. The color symbolizes new beginnings and emptiness in reference to the new student’s mind. If you’re feeling a bit apprehensive, you need to remember that even black belts began by wearing this belt. This should serve as a reminder that if you train diligently, you’ll progress to the next belt in about three months.

Yellow Belt
This is another significant belt in martial arts. It’s the color of the sun and represents hope. It also represents the fact that you’re in the learning phase of a new journey.

Green Belt
Green is the color of growth. When you get to wear this belt, you’re showing that you’re learning and refining your techniques. New martial arts skills are taught and refined (e.g., striking, grappling, wrestling). The reason they aren’t taught until now is that you need extensive self-disciplin.

Blue Belt
As we continue our journey through the sky, we see how the blueness gives light to everything that grows beneath it. Therefore, the blue belt signifies that you’re learning more skills and that both your mind and your body are developing. This is when you’ll get to start sparring.

Red Belt
Here’s another time at which the sun’s strength is represented. Of course, red also represents danger. Therefore, students wear this belt to signify that they’re becoming increasingly knowledgeable in dangerous skills.

Black Belt
This is the belt that all students want to attain. Black represents the darkness that lies beyond the sun. Students here are discovering a deeper understanding of the mental and physical teachings of martial arts. The achievement can be seen as a new beginning.

When you’re awarded this belt, you’re showing your commitment to honorably defend yourself and maintain a disciplined lifestyle. This is shown through respect not only for yourself but also for those around you. After all, your ultimate goal is to become well-rounded.

Black Belt Levels
Although the black belt is what everyone hopes to attain, the journey doesn’t end once you attain it. You have another 10 levels to go before earning your final belt. The first 5 are achieved through continuous training and may take as many as 20+ years to attain the fifth level (a.k.a., dan, master).

Levels 6 – 9 may take 40+ years to earn. This is a noteworthy lifetime achievement showing that you’ve learned humility, sacrifice, charity, and high moral character.

Are you ready to start your journey?
Get started on your own journey through these belts at Elevate Martial Arts in Tampa, FL. Here our instructors will help you develop your skills so that you’re ready to pass your test and advance in rank. We welcome you to visit our training studio and start taking classes today.

Picture Credit: Freepik